CPKN News 2012

CPKN News 2012

CPKN Hosts Webinar Series

Later this month, CPKN will launch a Technology-enhanced Learning webinar series.

A Passion for Learning: CPKN Announces the F. Darren Smith Award of Excellence

Within Canada’s policing community, Darren Smith is well known for leading the charge to bring greater innovation to learning.

Return on Investment: e-Learning at the RCMP *

In a review of its e-learning program, the RCMP reported that by using online delivery, it was able to deliver 43% its formal training courses for just 1% of its budget. When talking about the value of e-learning in modern policing, it's hard to argue with that kind of return on investment.

ISEP Suite Offered to National Police Audience

CPKN, in association with the Alberta Ministry of Justice and Solicitor General, has released five new courses from the Investigative Skills Education Program (ISEP). Focusing on key investigative skills development, these courses will provide a solid knowledge base for all police and law enforcement personnel.

Toronto Shares 'Items of Religious Significance' Training

The Toronto Police Service is sharing new training resources with the national police community. Items of Religious Significance: Sikh Religion is now available on CPKN.

The New Landscape of Fraud – An Interac Video

On behalf of Interac Association, CPKN is pleased to host the second installment of the Interac Fraud Prevention series.

Human Trafficking Gets Top Marks from Learners

With 90% of learners reporting they learned new skills that can be applied to their jobs, the Human Trafficking course is making the grade with Canadian police and law enforcement personnel.

Latest Research in e-Learning for Canadian Police

Get the latest research on e-learning in Canadian police and public safety sectors in the Summer 2012 edition of the Point.Click.Learn. e-newsletter.

Sandy Sweet Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Charlottetown, PE – Sandy Sweet has been honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the members of the Innovation and Technology Association of Prince Edward Island (ITAP) at the 2012 IT Gala Awards Dinner.

New Release: Frontline Supervisor Series

CPKN has launched a new five-part Frontline Supervisor series. Funded under the Police Sector Council’s national e-learning program, Canadian police and law enforcement personnel will have free access to these courses until August 31, 2012.

Mental Health Strategy Recommends More Training for Police

Canada’s new mental health strategy is putting emphasis on improved education and training for police and other frontline staff. CPKN offers effective training opportunities in recognizing and responding to individuals in crisis.

NEW! Debit Card Fraud Prevention Video

On behalf of Interac Association, CPKN is hosting an Interac-produced fraud prevention video. Given this week's arrests and seizures related to a Montreal-based international debit card fraud ring, this concise awareness piece on debit terminal-based fraud is not only timely but highly relevant.

Learning from the CPKN Business Case

CPKN is now featured as a case study at the Richard Ivey School of Business (Ivey) at the University of Western Ontario. A recent review of the CPKN model has been published by Ivey and is now available for use in business programs in universities across Canada and around the globe.

CPKN Launches Online Research Repository

It’s easier than ever to access the most recent research about learning and e-learning. The new CPKN Research Repository enables trainers, managers, and other stakeholders in the public safety sector to browse and share reports, studies, and other documents about advances and trends in e-learning.

New on CPKN: Deception Detection Techniques

Deception Detection Techniques is now available on CPKN. This four hour, introductory course will provide all law enforcement personnel with the knowledge and skills needed to identify and resolve deception indicators.

Human Trafficking – Free Learning Event Now Underway

Human Trafficking is the latest free Learning & Evaluation event to be sponsored by the Police Sector Council. Until June 30, 2012, Canadian police and law enforcement personnel may access this course at no charge.

CPKN and IBC Sponsor Free Access to Staged Collisions Training

Until December 2012, CPKN and the Insurance Bureau of Canada are sponsoring free access to Identifying Staged Collisions via CPKN. This is a tremendous opportunity for Canadian frontline officers to learn more about the tactics of highly sophisticated auto fraud rings and associated service supplier fraud.

OPC Issues Certificates for Online Courses

The Ontario Police College is now issuing Certificates of Completion for select courses hosted on CPKN. Learners who successfully complete Suspect Apprehension Pursuits Basic Refresher On-Line and Advanced Patrol Training are now eligible for OPC Certificates of Completion.

Syndicate content

Nouvelles 2012 du RCDSP

Nouvelles 2012 du RCDSP

Une passion pour l'apprentissage : Le RCDSP annonce le Prix d'excellence F. Darren Smith

Au sein de la communauté policière, Darren Smith est bien connu comme un meneur de troupe en ce qui a trait à l'apport d'innovation à l'apprentissage.

Retour du capital investi : la formation en ligne à la GRC *

Lors d’une révision de son programme de formation en ligne, la GRC a rapporté qu’en utilisant la formation en ligne, elle a été capable de diffuser 43 % de sa formation régulière pour seulement 1 % du budget. Lorsque l’on parle de la valeur de la formation en ligne dans le monde policier moderne, il est difficile de ne pas être d’accord en voyant ce genre de retour du capital investi.

La suite ISEP offerte au public policier à l'échelle nationale

Le RCDSP en collaboration avec l'Alberta Ministry of Justice and Solicitor General, a lancé cinq cours du Investigative Skills Education Program (ISEP). Se concentrant sur le développement des compétences clés en enquête, ces cours donneront aussi une base solide de connaissances pour tous les policiers et personnel de l'application de la loi.

Toronto partage sa formation «Items of Religious Significance »

Le Toronto Police Service partage sa nouvelle ressource de formation avec la communauté policière à l’échelle nationale. Items of Religious Significance: Sikh Religion est maintenant disponible sur le RCDSP.

Traite des personnes obtient une excellente critique de la part des apprenants

Avec 90 % des apprenants qui ont dit avoir appris de nouvelles habiletés qu'ils peuvent appliquer à leur travail, le cours Traite des personnes est une réussite auprès du personnel policier canadien et de l'application de la loi.

Sandy Sweet reçoit un prix d’excellence pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations

Charlottetown, ÎPÉ – Sandy Sweet s’est vu remettre un prix d’excellence pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations par les membres de la Technology Association of Prince Edward Island (ITAP) au IT Gala Awards Dinner de 2012.

Stratégie en matière de santé mentale recommande plus de formation pour les policiers

Stratégie en matière de santé mentale du Canada met l’emphase sur une éducation et une formation améliorée pour les policiers et autre personnel de première ligne. Le RCDSP offre des opportunités de formations efficaces pour reconnaître et intervenir face aux personnes en crise.

NOUVEAU! Vidéo concernant la prévention des fraudes par carte de débit

Le RCDSP héberge, pour l'Association Interac une vidéo sur la prévention de la fraude. En raison des arrestations qui ont eu lieu cette semaine en lien avec un groupe de fraudeurs de cartes de débits international basé à Montréal, cette courte formation de sensibilisation n'arrive pas seulement à point, mais est aussi très pertinente.

Apprendre du modèle d’affaire du RCDSP

Le RCDSP fait maintenant partie d’une étude de cas au Richard Ivey School of Business (Ivey) à l’University of Western Ontario. Un examen récent du modèle du RCDSP a été publié par Ivey et est maintenant disponible pour être utilisé dans les programmes de gestion des universités à travers le Canada et le monde entier.

Le RCDSP lance son dépôt de recherches en ligne

Il est plus facile que jamais d’accéder aux recherches les plus récentes concernant l’apprentissage en ligne. Le nouveau dépôt de recherches du RCDSP aide les formateurs, les gestionnaires et autres intervenants du milieu de la sécurité publique à consulter et partager des rapports, des études et autres documents concernant les avancées et les tendances de l’apprentissage en ligne.

Nouveau sur le RCDSP : Techniques de détection de la tromperie

Deception Detection Techniques est maintenant disponible sur le RCDSP. Il s'agit d'un cours d'introduction qui fournira à tout le personnel du milieu de l'application de la loi les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour identifier et résoudre les indices de tromperie.

Le RCDSP et le BAC commanditent l’accès gratuit à Identifying Staged Collisions

Jusqu’en décembre 2012, le RCDSP et le Bureau d’assurance du Canada commanditent l’accès gratuit à Identifying Staged Collisions par le RCDSP. Il s’agit d’une grande opportunité pour les policiers de première ligne canadiens de pouvoir apprendre les tactiques des cercles de fraudes automobiles hautement perfectionnées et sur les fournisseurs de service associés à ces fraudes.

L’OPC émet des certificats pour les cours en ligne

L’Ontario Police College émet maintenant des certificats lorsqu’un cours en ligne hébergé au RCDSP est complété. Les apprenants qui ont complété avec succès le cours Suspect Apprehension Pursuits Basic Refresher On-Line et Advanced Patrol Training sont maintenant éligibles à recevoir un certificat de l’OPC.

Syndiquer le contenu