F. Darren Smith Award of Excellence

F. Darren Smith Award of Excellence

In 2012, CPKN created the F. Darren Smith Award of Excellence to recognize and celebrate the contributions of Staff Superintendent F. Darren Smith in building and facilitating technology-enhanced learning within Canada’s police community. During his 33 year career with the Toronto Police Service, S/Supt. Smith was instrumental in enhancing police training models through technology. In addition to leading the creation and management of an in-house e-learning development unit at the Toronto Police College, his progressive vision and personal qualities helped drive change in positive and fundamental ways across the Canadian police sector.

The F. Darren Smith Award of Excellence was established to recognize and honour individuals in the Canadian police community who demonstrate outstanding leadership, commitment, and vision for the advancement of technology-enhanced learning (TEL).

 

Eligibility

All sworn and civilian members of the Canadian police community, including employees of police services, training academies, and related agencies, are eligible for this award.

 

Criteria

Selected by a Committee, recipients of this award demonstrate the following qualities:

  • Creates a compelling vision for the future of learning within their organization;
  • Has faced and overcome organizational learning challenges;
  • Initiates new initiatives that use TEL solutions;
  • Inspires and motivates colleagues to embrace TEL;
  • Shows leadership in establishing and achieving organizational learning goals through TEL solutions; and
  • Actively advocates for TEL and shares information and knowledge to enhance and advance TEL across the Canadian police sector.

 

The F. Darren Smith Award is presented at the annual Stanhope Workshop. The award recipient receives a plaque and is acknowledged on CPKN's website. A donation in the amount of $500 is also be made in the recipient's name to Dr. John Turnbull's Research and Patient Equipment and Services for the ALS Clinic at McMaster University Medical Centre.

 

Award Recipients

 

2016 - John Arnold

While officially established in 2004, CPKN’s origins began several years earlier as PoliceLearn.com, the brainchild of Mr. Arnold, then Chief Scientist of the Canadian Police Research Centre at the National Research Council of Canada...


 

2015 - Brent Shea, London Police Service

For more than a decade, Brent has volunteered his time, knowledge, and experience on a variety of fronts, including the development of policing competencies and integration of technology-enhanced learning, at local, provincial, and national levels...


 

2014 - Jane Naydiuk, BC Ministry of Justice Police Services Division

An Acting Sergeant with the Saanich Police Department, Jane Naydiuk was seconded to the Ministry's Police Services division in 2007. In the time since, she has been involved in several mandatory province-wide training initiatives...


 

2013 - Deputy Chief Bruce Herridge, York Regional Police

As an early proponent of e-learning, Deputy Chief Bruce Herridge has motivated frontline officers and senior leadership alike by sharing a positive and compelling vision for TEL. He not only introduced e-learning to the York Regional Police organization but led the creation of the Technology & Skills Development Unit and an in-house e-learning team. ...


 

2012 - S/ Supt. F. Darren Smith, Toronto Police Service

Within Canada’s policing community, Darren Smith is well known for leading the charge to bring greater innovation to learning. Drawing on equal passions for teaching and technology, Staff Superintendent Smith created the first e-learning to be used at the Toronto Police Service back in the mid-90s; through vision and drive, he has led TPS to the forefront of technology-enhanced learning...

Le Prix d’excellence F. Darren Smith

Le Prix d’excellence F. Darren Smith

En 2012, le RCSP a créé le Prix d’excellence F. Darren Smith afin de reconnaître et célébrer les contributions du surintendant d’état-major F. Darren Smith pour avoir conçu et facilité la formation améliorée par la technologie au sein de la communauté policière canadienne. Pendant ses 33 ans de carrière au Toronto Police Service, M. Smith a contribué à améliorer les modèles de formation à l’aide de la technologie. En plus d’être un leader dans la création et la gestion d’une unité de développement de formation en ligne au Toronto Police College, sa vision progressive et ses qualités personnelles ont positivement et fondamentalement contribué au changement dans le domaine policier au Canada.

Le Prix d’excellence F. Darren Smith a été créé pour reconnaître et honorer les gens de la communauté policière canadienne qui ont démontré un leadership hors du commun, un engagement et une vision concernant l’avancement de l’apprentissage amélioré par la technologie (AAT).

 

Admissibilité

Tous les membres de la communauté policière : civils ou policiers, incluant les employés des services de police, les écoles et agences reliées, sont admissibles pour recevoir ce prix.

 

Critères

Sélectionné par un comité, récipiendaires de ce prix démontrent les qualités suivantes:

  • Créer une vision convaincante pour le futur de l'apprentissage au sein de leur organisation.
  • A été confronté et surmonter les difficultés spécifiques d'apprentissage organisationnel.
  • Mettre en opération de nouvelles initiatives qui utilisent l'AAT.
  • Inspirer et motiver ses collègues pour l'adoption de l'AAT.
  • Démontrer du leadership dans l'implantation et l'atteinte des objectifs organisationnels concernant l'AAT.
  • Être porte-parole actif pour l'AAT et partager l'information et les connaissances afin d'améliorer et de faire avancer les AAT à travers le milieu policier canadien.

 

Le Prix d’excellence F. Darren Smith est présenté au Colloque annuel de Stanhope.Le récipiendaire reçoit une plaque et est reconnu sur le site Web du RCSP. Un don de 500 $ est également faite au nom du récipiendaire au Dr. John Turnbull's Research and Patient Equipment and Services pour l'ALS Clinic au McMaster University Medical Centre.

 

Récipiendaires des prix

 

2016 - John Arnold

Bien qu’établi officiellement en 2004, le RCSP a débuté des années plus tôt, sous le nom de PoliceLearn.com. Il est né à l’initiative de M. Arnold, à l’époque scientifique en chef au Centre canadien de recherches policières (CCRP), relevant du Conseil national de recherches du Canada...


2015 - Brent Shea, London Police Service

Pendant plus de dix ans, Brent a offert bénévolement son temps, ses connaissances et son expérience dans divers dossiers, y compris le perfectionnement des compétences policières et l’intégration de technologies de pointe à l’apprentissage à l’échelon local, provincial et national...


 

2014 - Jane Naydiuk, Ministry of Justice Police Services Division de Colombie-Britannique

Sergent intérimaire au Saanich Police Department, Jane Naydiuk a été détachée au Ministry’s Police Services division en 2007. Depuis ce temps, elle a été impliquée dans plusieurs initiatives de formation obligatoires pour la province...


 

2013 - Deputy Chief Bruce Herridge, York Regional Police

En tant que promoteur avant-gardiste de la formation en ligne, le chef adjoint Bruce Herridge a motivé les policiers de première ligne et les leaders séniors en partageant une vision positive et convaincante de l’AAT. Il n’a pas seulement introduit la formation en ligne à la York Regional Police, il a aussi mené à la création d’une unité de développement technologique et de compétences ainsi qu’une équipe interne de formation en ligne...


 

2012 - S/ Supt. F. Darren Smith, Toronto Police Service

Au sein de la communauté policière, Darren Smith est bien connu comme un meneur de troupe en ce qui a trait à l'apport d'innovation à l'apprentissage.

Avec une passion égale pour l'enseignement et la technologie, le surintendant d'état-major Smith a créé la première formation en ligne à être utilisée au Toronto Police Service au milieu des années 1990. Grâce à sa vision et son énergie, il a mené le TPS à l'avant-plan de l'apprentissage amélioré par la technologie...