Course Catalogue

Police Information Portal

Police Information Portal

The Police Information Portal (PIP) is a component of the National Integrated Interagency Information (N-III) system, a groundbreaking information sharing initiative for police, public safety, and federal agencies across Canada. Accessed through CPIC and managed by the RCMP, PIP is a searchable index of all police agency Record Management Systems across the country and is an important means of gathering information during serial predator investigations, organized crime investigations, and investigations where the subject moves from one jurisdiction to another. By providing access to better information, PIP not only benefits all police officers, but also the communities they serve.

The ability of officers to fully and correctly utilize PIP is essential to maximizing the benefits and efficiency of this tool. Designed for frontline personnel, this course provides information on using PIP, policy issues, proper use instructions, and quality of information issues that will provide police services across the country with better information.

Learning Objectives

Upon completion of this course you will be able to:

  • Explain why the Police Information Portal was established and describe the type of information it contains
  • Describe the responsibility issues surrounding use of the Police Information Portal and the policies that provide a framework for investigators to use information from other police services in their investigations
  • Perform a Police Information Portal Name and Vehicle query from the Niche System
  • Perform a Police Information Portal Name and Vehicle query from the Versaterm System
  • Perform a Police Information Portal Name and Vehicle query from the Versaterm Mobile Data Terminal
  • Explain the importance of accurate information in the context of national sharing
  • Explain the importance of auditing in the context of national sharing

Level

This is an introductory level course and is designed for all PIP users, including frontline police personnel and appropriate civilian staff.

Content Provider

Content for this course has been developed by the London Police Service with assistance from the Ontario Provincial Police and the RCMP.

 
The development of this course was funded by the
Government of Canada's Sector Council Program.

Price: $25.00

Content Provider: London Police Service

Language: English / French

Length: 2 hours


Release Date: 2010-10-04

Répertoire des cours

Portail d'informations policières

Portail d'informations policières

Le Portail d'informations policières (PIP) est un volet du système national intégré d'information interorganismes (N III), une initiative pionnière de partage d'information entre les policiers, les responsables de la protection civile et des organismes fédéraux à l'échelle pancanadienne. Accessible par l'entremise du Centre d'information de la police canadienne (CIPC) et géré par la GRC, le PIP est un index consultable des systèmes de gestion des dossiers des organismes policiers partout au pays; il est un important moyen de réunir des renseignements lors d'enquêtes sur des prédateurs en série, sur le crime organisé et sur des sujets qui se déplacent d'une région à une autre. En donnant l'accès à une meilleure information, le PIP est bénéfique non seulement à tous les agents de police, mais aussi aux collectivités qu'ils desservent.

L'aptitude des agents de police d'exploiter pleinement et convenablement le PIP est essentielle pour tirer tout le parti possible de cet outil. Ce cours destiné aux agents de première ligne présente de l'information sur l'utilisation du PIP, sur des questions de politiques, sur les bons usages et sur la qualité des données. Le tout vise à offrir aux services policiers de tout le pays des renseignements sans cesse meilleurs.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Après avoir réussi ce cours, vous pourrez :

  • expliquer pourquoi le Portail d'informations policières a été créé et décrire le genre d'information qui s'y trouve;
  • décrire les questions de responsabilité entourant l'utilisation du Portail d'informations policières et les politiques qui encadrent l'utilisation par les enquêteurs d'informations provenant d'autres services policiers;
  • effectuer une recherche de nom et de véhicule dans le Portail d'informations policières à partir du système Niche;
  • effectuer une recherche de nom et de véhicule dans le Portail d'informations policières à partir du système Versaterm;
  • effectuer une recherche de nom et de véhicule dans le Portail d'informations policières à partir du terminal de données mobile Versaterm;
  • expliquer l'importance de l'exactitude de l'information dans le contexte d'un échange national;
  • expliquer l'importance de la vérification dans le contexte d'un échange national.

Niveau

Ce cours d'introduction convient à tous les utilisateurs du PIP, y compris les agents de police de première ligne et le personnel civil pertinent.

Fournisseur de contenu

Le contenu de ce cours a été mis au point par le Service de police de London avec l'aide de la Police provinciale de l'Ontario et de la GRC.

 
Financé par le Gouvernement du Canada par
l'entremise du Programme des conseils sectoriels.

Prix: 25$

Fournisseur de contenu: London Police Service

Langue: Anglais / Français

Durée: 2 heures


Date de lancement: 2011-02-17