About CPKN

About CPKN

The Canadian Police Knowledge Network (CPKN) is Canada's leading provider of online training solutions for police and law enforcement personnel. Working with subject matter experts from the Canadian policing community, CPKN develops and delivers highly effective, economical, and engaging e-learning courses to meet the needs of frontline officers. CPKN also offers a range of other online learning services including custom development and hosting, service-specific learning portals, and e-learning implementation assistance.

Corporate History

CPKN was established in 2004 in response to a recognized need for an efficient, cost-effective training model for Canadian police services. At that time, members of the Canadian police community collaborated with government and academic organizations including the National Research Council Canada Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC-IRAP) and Holland College's Justice Knowledge Network to create CPKN.

The Canadian Police Knowledge Network (CPKN) was incorporated as a Part II, not-for-profit corporation in June 2005 under the Canada Corporations Act. It is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors, primarily comprised of senior ranking police professionals from across the country, which oversees CPKN’s mandate to be an integral component of training and learning for Canadian and international law enforcement agencies and related public safety organizations.

Client Base

CPKN serves a broad range of clients in the law enforcement sector including:

Canadian Police Community

CPKN was created by, and specifically for, members of the Canadian police community. Courses are developed in direct partnership with police subject matter experts to ensure that police officers are trained in police-specific situations, protocols, and tactics.

Law Enforcement & Public Safety Organizations

Many of CPKN’s courses are also open to law enforcement professionals outside of the policing sector. CPKN maintains a “Law Enforcement Community” learning portal for law enforcement professionals who are not sworn police officers but have enforcement authority responsibilities in the work they do. This may include Peace Officers, Special Constables, Forestry Officers (provincial and federal), Environment Officers, Coast Guard, Canada Border Services, Corrections Officers (provincial and federal), and Government Investigators.

In some cases, other public safety professionals may also access CPKN courses. For example, courses such as Meth Lab First Responder and Infectious Disease and Pandemic Preparedness are available to a variety of first response personnel, including fire, paramedic, and various health/social service workers.

International Law Enforcement Community

Many of CPKN’s courses are relevant to the broader international law enforcement community. CPKN also works with these agencies to customize existing courses, or develop new ones, to meet the specific training needs.

À propos du RCSP

À propos du RCSP

Le Réseau canadien du savoir policier (RCSP) est le premier fournisseur de solutions de formations en ligne pour les policiers et le personnel du milieu de l’application de la loi. Le RCSP travaille avec des experts de la communauté policière canadienne. Il développe et met en ligne des cours très efficaces, économiques et motivants qui répondent aux besoins des policiers de première ligne. Le RCSP offre aussi une variété d’autres services en ligne dont le développement et l’hébergement de portails personnalisés pour l’apprentissage ainsi que du support pour l’implantation de formation en ligne.

Historique de l’entreprise

Le RCSP a été créé en 2004 pour combler le besoin criant d’un modèle de formation efficace et économique pour les services de police canadiens. À ce moment les membres de la communauté policière canadienne ont collaboré avec le gouvernement et les établissements scolaires dont le Conseil national de recherches par l’entremise du Programme d’aide à la recherche industrielle (PARI-CNRC) et du Réseau des savoirs judiciaires du Holland College, afin de créer le Réseau canadien du savoir policier.

Le RCSP a été incorporé selon la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes partie II, comme organisme à but non lucratif en juin 2005. Il est dirigé par un conseil d’administration formé de bénévoles, principalement des professionnels du milieu policier de niveau cadre supérieur de partout au pays, qui supervisent les mandats du RCSP afin qu’ils soient un élément intégral de la formation canadienne et internationale du milieu de l’application de la loi et autres organismes liés à la sécurité publique.

Clientèle

Le réseau canadien du savoir policier dessert une grande variété de clients dans le milieu de l’application de la loi :

La communauté policière canadienne

Le RCSP a été créé par et pour les membres de la communauté policière. Les cours ont été développés en partenariat direct avec des experts en matières policières afin de s’assurer que les policiers soient formés pour des situations, protocoles, et tactiques policières spécifiques.

Les organismes qui travaillent pour l’application de la loi et la sécurité publique

Plusieurs des cours du RCSP sont aussi accessibles aux professionnels du secteur de l’application de la loi en dehors du secteur policier. Le RCSP maintien un portail d’apprentissage pour les travailleurs de la communauté de « l’application de la loi » qui ne sont pas policiers, mais qui ont des pouvoirs et responsabilités dans le travail qu’ils exercent dont les agents de la paix, les agents spéciaux, les gardes forestiers (provinciaux et fédéraux), les agents de l’environnement, les gardes côtiers, les agents des services frontaliers, les agents de correction (provinciaux et fédéraux) et les enquêteurs gouvernementaux.

Dans certains cas d’autres professionnels du secteur de la sécurité publique peuvent aussi avoir accès aux cours du RCSP. Par exemple, les cours comme Meth Lab First Responder et Infectious Disease and Pandemic Preparedness sont disponibles à une variété de travailleurs qui agissent comme premiers répondants, y compris les pompiers, les ambulanciers et divers travailleurs des services sociaux et de la santé.

La communauté internationale de l’application de la loi

Plusieurs des cours du RCSP sont pertinents pour la communauté internationale travaillant dans le domaine de l’application de la loi. Le RCSP est aussi heureux de travailler avec ces établissements afin de personnaliser les cours existants ou d’en développer de nouveaux afin de répondre à leurs besoins spécifiques en matière de formation.